Thursday, October 28, 2010

Chritopher Weingarten's "The Anti-Witch House Mixtape" Featuring The Title Track from "The Crystal World"

All right, you can finally hear a bit of what the upcoming Locrian album will sound like. Only about one more month until it's officially out. We recently received a copy of what the final finished release looks like and it looks amazing.
Look what critics are saying!

“[S]lowed-down… sonically detailed… low-end explosions… midnight tones… amniotic haze… spacey atmosphere… noise pop… wide-ranging tastes… crawled-out rave-recalling synth lines… low-riding Houston lean… grime-flecked trip-hop… hollow, thudding rhythms pitched-down… chopped-and-screwed rapping… original and compelling… rape.”

—Larry Fitzmaurice, Pitchfork
[Ed. note: Quotes may actually be about Salem]

Here are some of my fave recent songs that have many of the qualities people love about Salem—dark, foreboding, gauzy, enveloping, rhythmically unique, crypto-gothtastic, murky. But these tracks have the added value of outdated ideas like “passion” and “working knowledge of your equipment” and “not having a corny-ass white person that says ‘skreets.’” Keep your ears peeled, indie rockers… you might even hear an actual rap song or two. See u @ the Fader Fort! #boo

Fuck NoOoOO: The Anti-Witch House Mixtape [2010]

1. Ben Frost – “Through The Glass Of The Roof”
2. Waka Flocka Flame ft. Pastor Troy & Slim Dunkin – “Fuck The Club Up”
3. Pan Sonic – “Voltos Bolt”
4. Demdike Stare – “Nothing But The Night”
5. DJ Paul ft. Lord Infamous – “Pop A Pill”
6. Sick Llama – “Untitled”
7. Tobacco – “Lick The Witch”
8. K-X-P – “Mehu Moments”
9. Beak> – “Ham Green”
10. 8Ball & MJG – “Blunts & Broads”
11. Big K.R.I.T. – “Country Shit”
12. Nappy Roots – “Do It Big”
13. White Moth ft. Dälek – “Shoot The Clock”
14. Pale Sketcher – “Can I Go Now (Gone Version)”
15. Locrian – “The Crystal World”
16. Waka Flocka Flame – “O Lets Do It (Chopped Not Slopped by DJ Steve)
17. Carlos Giffoni – “Severence III”
18. Rotting Christ ft. Diamanda Galás” – “Orders From The Dead”


[Album art by Tristan Eden]